Skip to main content
Where all routes lead to the future

Our Vision
Our Future

Live Laboratory

Collaborations

Our Vision
Our Future

Link zu Leistungen

Live Laboratory
Services & Facts

The Mobility Laboratory

Mobility laboratory “zukunftswege.at” assists research and innovation drivers in the development of their potential, and aims to initiate and help new projects.

The aim is to develop sustainable mobility solutions, to reduce and at the same time better organise traffic in the city and surrounding communities. New projects will be created by networking industry, business and research. This should therefore contribute to the transport revolution, including in respect of climate neutrality, within the strategies and master plans of the city and state of Salzburg. Through close cooperation with the city and state of Salzburg, the findings of the projects flow directly into the practical planning and implementation of transport measures, mobility projects and awareness-raising actions. On the other side, innovation projects benefit from the support and know-how of Salzburger Verkehrsverbund GmbH and the partners involved.

Zukunftswege SIGNET

Our Basic Functions

  • Advice

  • Awareness-raising

  • Knowledge transfer

  • Networking partners

Our Services

Special services of our research partners to support your projects

Our Live Laboratory Infrastructure

Test corridors and laboratory stations with an integrated data infrastructure.

zukunftswege.at is a point of contact for citizens, experts and companies of any stakeholder groups to network and to raise their concerns in the mobility sector.

Through it, new innovation projects with a focus on mobility should be initiated and actively supported. The mobility laboratory offers you a very broad range of innovation-related services, access to the infrastructure and other basic services.

To create new, mobility-related contributions to solutions, targeted use is made of the basic functions, test environments and services.

The effects of innovation projects should therefore also improve the innovation and mobility system. For business and research, the laboratory activities allow experimentation and learning in the live laboratory / practical context, to create the necessary foundations for the planning of demand-driven provisions. Citizens are invited to contribute their ideas and to become actively involved in the projects through customer journey and citizen participation processes.

This significantly improves acceptance, visibility and the time frame for implementation of innovation projects.

Optimal networking can improve efficiency in implementation of the services to be developed. The focus of innovation projects on regional needs and challenges is underlined by the participation of the public sector and the involvement of a variety of stakeholders. With the sponsorship of Salzburger Verkehrsverbund GmbH the laboratory activities and services of zukunftswege.at will become established in the long term.

Research Partners

As well as the project partners providing funding – the city and state of Salzburg – mobility laboratory zukunftswege.at has also gained research partners RSA FG iSPACE, Salzburg Research and the University of Salzburg – Z_GIS.

These research institutions, which are relevant for the central area of Salzburg, have significant capacity for activities and new innovation projects in the mobility sector. They provide the services offered on behalf of zukunftswege.at.

Salzburg Research

logo Salzburg Research

Salzburg Research Forschungsgesellschaft mbH

Salzburg Research bietet als unabhängiges Forschungsinstitut Know-how und nachhaltige Lösungen für komplexe Herausforderungen im Internet der Dinge.

As an independent research institution, Salzburg Research offers know-how and sustainable solutions for complex challenges in the internet of things.

With motion data intelligence, the movement of people and things is made measurable and linked together reliably, and algorithms are developed for meaningful analyses, which therefore improve value added and efficiency. On behalf of zukunftswege.at, research group “Mobility and Transport Analytics” develops and oversees the following three services:

  • Real traffic data from private and public transport
  • Quality measurement of cycling infrastructure
  • Cooperative transport hubs

RSA FG Research Studio iSPACE

RSA FG Research Logo

RSA FG Research Studio iSPACE

With methods from applied geoinformatics, RSA FG Research Studio iSPACE develops innovative planning instruments and tools for evidence-based decision-making and awareness-raising for companies, administrative bodies and the general public, in the context of optimised resource planning and climate protection.

The applications lie in the planning domains of mobility as well as residential and open space development. As a part of zukunftswege.at, solutions that have been developed should be subject to application-based refinement for spatial planning, to support specific planning activities for development of the mobility provision or infrastructure. The scalable methodology (“route analysis”) developed on behalf of zukunftswege.at allows comparative analysis of any locations and routes desired (public transport routes / cycle paths) with respect to commuter dynamics and population structure. The service is suited to identifying potential in the transport system on a wide range of geographical levels (local to national) and to prioritising possible solutions. Among other things, in the context of the Ultimob model project, the service has also been used as a data basis for the development of a multimodal action plan.

University of Salzburg

Mobility Laboratory | Department of Geoinformatics – Z_GIS | Paris Lodron University of Salzburg (PLUS)

Geographical conditions have a significant impact on mobility. Conversely, mobility shapes the geographical space.
In the mobility laboratory, first-class research is conducted at the interface between geoinformatics and mobility research. Findings produced here are consistently transferred into practical application and published in the relevant specialist fields. Students are included in the continuous expansion of knowledge and supervised in the course of project work and final dissertations.
The expansion of knowledge in the mobility laboratory is largely based upon externally funded national and international research projects. Through interdisciplinary collaborations, geoinformational method innovations in the area of data modelling, network analysis and the modelling of interactions between moving objects and their surroundings are included in a range of mobility-related domains.

PROJECT

Zero Carbon Mobility

More

Project: ZeCaMo

Transformation processes for sustainable mobility solutions in residential construction

An the Friedrich-Inhauser-Straße residential development in the city of Salzburg, a comprehensive ecological clean-up including compaction was successfully completed by the end of 2021. An innovative energy and mobility concept was installed at the complex, which was constructed in the 1980s and has previously won multiple awards. The “Zero Carbon Mobility” successor project is establishing monitoring of the mobility provision in 2022, in particular to the new multimodal mobility point.

In the course of the project, a neighbourhood festival is being held, with a focus on mobility and an experts’ seminar for politics and administration. On the basis of the successful model implementation, the aim being pursued is that innovative mobility concepts should become standard in future residential construction and that multimodal mobility should be considered as part of the local public transport network.

Would it not be great if, in the future, the e-car sharing in the complex could be booked easily and cost-effectively for example with the Climate Ticket? The “ZeCaMo” project illustrates such potential opportunities and moving forward together with Salzburger Verkehrsverbund in the residential and mobility sector.

PROJECT

Station4All

More

Project: Station4All

Integration of public transport stations into everyday routines to improve equality in mobility

The aim of the Station4All project is intensive research into the extent to which the often different needs of the broadest range of groups of people are considered or neglected, in order to develop clear guidelines from this, to improve regional and public transport service quality. The focus here is on regional public transport stations, which often have only rudimentary equipment in comparison with public transport stations in urban areas.

The result of Station4All is a weighted, specific catalogue of measures for the best possible integration of public transport stations into everyday routines, which includes the needs of commuters on the basis of gender and diversity-specific requirements as well as feasibility from an economic and technical perspective. The clear value added here is the development of measures that involve all the relevant population groups equally, that promise a high level of acceptance, and that improve equality, sustainability and connectivity in mobility as well as strengthening structurally weak regions.

Mobility Laboratories in Austria

With the mobility laboratory initiative, the Austrian federal ministry of climate protection, the environment, energy, mobility, innovation and technology (BMK) has instigated the formation and operation of the mobility laboratories as part of the future mobility (MdZ) programme.

After an exploratory phase, which began in 2014, six mobility laboratories were established in 2017 and operated until 2021. Following an external effectiveness test, tenders for the third phase of the mobility laboratories were invited in spring 2021. Since then, four mobility laboratories and the “Centre for Mobility Change” have been pursued and developed in Austria. The synergies and competences of the individual laboratories are brought together and continuously expanded through the “cooperation and exchange platform of the mobility laboratories in Austria” (KAMÖ) with support from AustriaTech.

Illustration einer Österreichkarte für dieMobilitätslabore
Logo MobilLab

  • Sustainable last-mile freight logistics
  • Inter-company mobility management
  • Identification of sustainable vehicle fleets and the required infrastructure
  • Logistics space optimisation
  • Mobility as a service
Logo aspern mobile LAB

  • Active mobility+
  • Mobility as a (shared) service+
  • First and last-mile logistics+
  • Mobility incentives, communication and marketing
Logo MobilLab Logistics Innovations

  • Freight logistics
  • Urban logistics
  • Green logistics
  • Environmentally friendly rail-road intermodal transport
Logo MobilLab

  • Changing mobility behaviour (focus on digitalisation, tourism)
  • Knowledge transfer via the CMC wiki and training courses
  • Target-group-specific advice for communities
Logo MobilLab

  • Intermodal interfaces in the environmental alliance
  • Mobility data infrastructure
  • Cross-border test corridors
  • Station 4.0
  • Customer journey

Source: BMK

As part of the FTI future mobility programme, zukunftswege.at is promoted by the Austrian federal ministry of climate protection and operated by the Austrian research promotion agency.

Hier fürhen alle Wege in die Zukunft
Link zu unserer Vision

Unsere Vision
Unsere Zukunft

Unsere Vision
Unsere Zukunft

Link zu Leistungen

Unser Reallabor
Leistung & Fakten

Das Mobilitäts­labor

Das Mobilitätslabor „zukunftswege.at“ unterstützt die Forschung und Innovationstreiber:innen bei der Entfaltung ihrer Potenziale und zielt darauf ab, neue Projekte zu initiieren und zu begleiten.

Ziel ist es, nachhaltige Mobilitätslösungen zu entwickeln, um den Verkehr in der Stadt und den Umlandgemeinden zu reduzieren und gleichzeitig besser zu organisieren. Durch die Vernetzung von Industrie, Wirtschaft und Forschung sollen neue Projekte geschaffen werden. Innerhalb der Strategien und Masterpläne von Stadt und Land Salzburg soll somit ein Beitrag zur Verkehrswende, auch im Hinblick auf die Klimaneutralität, hervorgerufen werden. Durch die enge Zusammenarbeit mit Stadt und Land Salzburg fließen die Erkenntnisse der Projekte direkt in die praktische Planung und Umsetzung von verkehrlichen Maßnahmen, Mobilitätsprojekten oder bewusstseinsbildenden Maßnahmen ein. Andererseits profitieren Innovationsvorhaben von der Unterstützung und dem Know-how der Salzburger Verkehrsverbund GmbH sowie der involvierten Partner:innen.

Zukunftswege SIGNET

Unsere Basis­aufgaben

  • Beratung

  • Bewusstseinsbildung

  • Wissenstransfer

  • Vernetzung von Partnern

Unsere Dienst­leistungen

Spezielle Services unserer Forschungs­partner:innen zur Unter­stützung ihrer Projekte

Unsere Real­labor­infra­struktur

Testkorridore und Laborhaltestellen mit einer integrierten Dateninfrastruktur.

zukunftswege.at ist eine Anlaufstelle für Bürger:innen, Expert:innen und Firmen jeglicher Interessensgruppen, um sich zu vernetzen und ihre Anliegen im Mobilitätsbereich anzubringen.

Dadurch sollen neue Innovationsvorhaben mit Schwerpunkt Mobilität initiiert und aktiv begleitet werden. Das Mobilitätslabor bietet ihnen ein sehr breites Angebot an innovationsrelevanten Dienstleistungen, den Zugang zur Infrastruktur und weiteren Basisdienstleistungen.

Zur Schaffung neuer mobilitätsrelevanter Lösungsbeiträge werden die Basisaufgaben, Testräume und Dienstleistungen zielgerichtet eingesetzt.

Somit sollen Innovationsvorhaben auch in ihren Wirkungen das Innovations- und Mobilitätsystem verbessern. Die Laboraktivitäten ermöglichen für Wirtschaft und Forschung das Experimentieren und Lernen im Reallabor- / Praxiskontext, um daraus die notwendigen Grundlagen zur Planung nachfrageorientierter Angebote zu generieren. Bürger:innen werden eingeladen ihre Ideen einzubringen und aktiv über Customer Journey- und Bürgerbeteiligungsprozesse in den Projekten mitzuarbeiten.

Dadurch werden Akzeptanz, Sichtbarkeit und Zeitspanne zur Umsetzung von Innovationsvorhaben deutlich verbessert.

Durch eine optimale Vernetzung können die zu entwickelnden Leistungen effizienter in die Umsetzung gebracht werden. Die Ausrichtung der Innovationsvorhaben an regionale Bedarfslagen und Herausforderungen wird durch die Beteiligung der öffentlichen Hand und die Einbindung diverser Stakeholder unterstrichen. Die Laboraktivitäten und Leistungen von zukunftswege.at sollen durch die Trägerschaft der Salzburger Verkehrsverbund GmbH langfristig etabliert werden.

Forschungs­partner:innen

Neben den geldgebenden Projektpartnern:innen Stadt und Land Salzburg konnte das Mobilitätslabor zukunftswege.at die Forschungspartner:innen RSA FG iSPACE, Salzburg Research Forschungsgesellschaft und Universität Salzburg – Z_GIS gewinnen.

Diese für den Zentralraum Salzburg relevanten Forschungsinstitutionen verfügen über wesentliche Kapazitäten für Aktivitäten und neue Innovationsvorhaben im Mobilitätsbereich. Sie betreiben im Auftrag von zukunftswege.at die angebotenen Dienstleistungen.

Salzburg Research

logo Salzburg Research

Salzburg Research Forschungsgesellschaft mbH

Salzburg Research bietet als unabhängiges Forschungsinstitut Know-how und nachhaltige Lösungen für komplexe Herausforderungen im Internet der Dinge.

Mit Motion Data Intelligence wird die Bewegung von Menschen und Dingen messbar gemacht, zuverlässig miteinander verknüpft und es werden Algorithmen für aussagekräftige Analysen entwickelt, die damit Mehrwert und Effizienz steigern. Die Forschungsgruppe “Mobility and Transport Analytics” entwickelt und betreut im Auftrag von zukunftswege.at die folgenden drei Dienstleistungen:

  • Reale Verkehrsdaten aus dem Individualverkehr und dem öffentlichen Verkehr
  • Qualitätsmessung von Radfahrinfrastruktur
  • Kooperativer Verkehrsknoten

RSA FG Research Studio iSPACE

RSA FG Research Logo

RSA FG Research Studio iSPACE

Das RSA FG Research Studio iSPACE entwickelt mit Methoden der angewandten Geoinformatik sowie Datenwissenschaft innovative Planungswerkzeuge und -Tools, zur evidenzbasierten Entscheidungsunterstützung und Bewusstseinsbildung für Unternehmen, Verwaltungen und die gesellschaftliche Öffentlichkeit im Kontext der optimierten Ressourcenplanung und des Klimaschutzes.

Die Anwendungsbereiche liegen in den Planungsdomänen Mobilität sowie Siedlungs- und Freiraumentwicklung. Im Rahmen von zukunftswege.at sollen entwickelte Lösungen für räumliche Planungen anwendungsbezogen weiterentwickelt werden um konkrete Planungsmaßnahmen zur Weiterentwicklung des Mobilitätsangebotes oder der -infrastruktur zu unterstützen. Die im Auftrag von zukunftswege.at entwickelte skalierbare Methodik (“Trassenanalyse”) ermöglicht eine vergleichende Analyse von beliebigen Standorten und Trassen (ÖV Linien / Radwegen) im Hinblick auf Pendlerdynamik und Bevölkerungsstruktur. Die Dienstleistung ist geeignet um Potentiale im Verkehrssystem auf unterschiedlichsten räumlichen Ebenen (lokal bis national) zu erkennen und Lösungsmöglichkeiten zu priorisieren. Die Dienstleistung wurde u.a. auch im Kontext des Leitprojektes Ultimob, als eine Datengrundlage für die Entwicklung eines multimodalen Aktionsplanes, angewendet.

Universität Salzburg

Mobility Lab | Fachbereich Geoinformatik – Z_GIS | Paris Lodron Universität Salzburg (PLUS)

Räumliche Gegebenheiten beeinflussen die Mobilität maßgeblich. Umgekehrt prägt Mobilität den geographischen Raum.
Im Mobility Lab wird erstklassige Forschung an der Schnittstelle zwischen Geoinformatik und Mobilitätsforschung betrieben. Dabei erzielte Erkenntnisse werden konsequent in die Praxisanwendung transferiert und facheinschlägig publiziert. In den kontinuierlichen Wissensaufbau werden Studierende mit einbezogen und im Rahmen von Projekt- und Abschlussarbeiten betreut.
Der Wissensaufbau im Mobility Lab basiert weitgehend auf drittmittelfinanzierten nationalen und internationalen Forschungsprojekten. Geoinformatorische Methodeninnovationen im Bereich der Datenmodellierung, der Netzwerkanalyse und der Modellierung von Wechselbeziehungen zwischen bewegten Objekten und ihrer Umgebung werden durch interdisziplinäre Kollaborationen in eine Reihe von mobilitätsbezogenen Domänen eingebracht.

Projekt: ZeCaMo

Zero Carbon Mobility

Trans­formations­prozesse für nachhaltige Mobilitäts­lösungen im Wohnbau

In der Wohnsiedlung Friedrich-Inhauser-Straße in der Stadt Salzburg wurde bis Ende 2021 erfolgreich eine umfassende ökologische Sanierung inklusive Nachverdichtung fertiggestellt. Die in den 1980er Jahren errichtete Anlage wurde unter anderem mit einem innovativen Energie- und Mobilitätskonzept ausgestattet und hat bereits mehrere Preise gewonnen. Das Nachfolgeprojekt “Zero Carbon Mobility” etabliert im Jahr 2022 ein Monitoring der Mobilitätsangebote, insbesondere des neuen multimodalen Mobilitätspunktes.

Mehr dazu

Projekt ZeCaMo

Im Zuge des Projekts wird ein Siedlungsfest mit dem Schwerpunkt Mobilität und ein Seminar für Expert:innen-Seminar für Politik und Verwaltung veranstaltet. Auf Basis der erfolgreichen Modellumsetzung wird das Ziel verfolgt, dass innovative Mobilitätskonzepte zukünftig Standard im Wohnbau werden und multimodale Mobilität als Teil des ÖPNV betrachtet wird.

Wäre es nicht toll, wenn das E-Carsharing in der Siedlung zukünftig beispielsweise mit dem Klimaticket einfach und kostengünstig gebucht werden könnte? Das Projekt „ZeCaMo“ zeigt solche potenziellen Möglichkeiten auf und bestreitet gemeinsam mit dem Salzburger Verkehrsverbund Zukunftswege im Bereich Wohnen & Mobilität.

Mobilitätslabore in Österreich

Mit der Mobilitäts­­labor­­initiative hat das öster­reichische Bundes­ministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie (BMK) im Rahmen des Programms Mobilität der Zukunft (MdZ) den Aufbau und Betrieb der Mobilitätslabore initiiert.

Nach einer 2014 gestarteten Sondierungsphase wurden 2017 sechs Mobilitätslabore aufgebaut und bis 2021 betrieben. Nach einer externen Wirkungsprüfung wurde im Frühjahr 2021 die dritte Phase der Mobilitätslabore ausgeschrieben. Seitdem werden vier Mobilitätslabore und das “Centre for Mobility Change” in Österreich weitergeführt und entwickelt. Die Synergien und Kompetenzen der einzelnen Labore werden durch die „Kooperations- und Austauschplattform der Mobilitätslabore Österreich” (KAMÖ) mit Unterstützung der AustriaTech zusammengeführt und fortlaufend erweitert.

Illustration einer Österreichkarte für dieMobilitätslabore
Logo MobilLab

  • Nachhaltige Last-Mile Güterlogistik
  • Überbetriebliches Mobilitätsmanagement
  • Ermittlung nachhaltiger Fahrzeugflotten und der benötigten Infrastruktur
  • Logistikflächenoptimierung
  • Mobility as a Service
Logo aspern mobile LAB

  • Aktive Mobilität+
  • Mobility as a (Shared) Service+
  • first and last mile Logistikt+
  • Mobilitätsanreize, -kommunikation und -marketing
Logo MobilLab Logistikinnovationen

  • Güterlogistik
  • Urbane Logistik
  • Green Logistics
  • umweltfreundlicher Schiene-Straße-Intermodaltansport
Logo MobilLab

  • Veränderung des Mobilitätsverhaltens (Fokus Digitalisierung, Tourismus)
  • Wissensvermittlung durch das CMC-Wiki und Schulungen
  • Zielgruppenorientierte Beratung von Gemeinden
Logo MobilLab

  • Intermodale Schnittstellen im Umweltverbund
  • Mobilitätsdateninfrastruktur
  • Grenzüberschreitende Testkorridore
  • Haltestelle 4.0
  • customer journey

Quelle: BMK

zukunftswege.at wird gefördert im Rahmen des FTI-Programms Mobilität der Zukunft durch das Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz und von der Österreichischen Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft abgewickelt.